Times of Your Life

DSC_0112, originally uploaded by Shirley Buxton.

Jerry and I arrived yesterday afternoon in Visalia to participate in the 25th annual Ladies Conference of the Western District. It is a significant meeting, a very large crowd is here and I’m happy to be a part. The convocation has bitter-sweet overtones, however, for this is the last one for our district as it stands now.

The Times of Your Life is an apt theme, for 25 years ago, we held the first Ladies Conference for this area. I am blessed to be able to say I have attended all of them. These conferences are always a high-light of my year.

There are a few men here–wives of speakers and board members, mostly–and Jerry will hang out with them. The sessions are open, so sometimes the men attend, usually sitting in the rear of the auditorium.

Fellowship with the people of God? Nothing like it!

______________________________________________________
My devotional blog is here.

7 thoughts on “Times of Your Life

  1. Hey, everybody. It’s 9:10 Arizona time on Saturday night, and we just got back to Lake Havasu after experiencing this dynamite conference. Thanks for all your comments–I do appreciate them.

    Love,

    shirley

    Like

  2. Rebecca Juarez

    Dear, sweet Sis. Buxton,
    So sorry I wasn’t there to hear you speak today; you’re always such a blessing to me. I am, however, keeping up with you blogaciously (an adverb I just made up meaning “by reading your blog voraciously” hehe). Have a wonderful time.
    Rebecca
    P.S. I’m going to email you in the next few days about Kahlil Gibran’s “The Seven Selves.”

    Like

  3. Sis. B,

    You still remain one of my favorites. I get swept away by the way you write – thanks for being you. My wife called from Ladies Conf. and said you were great today. Thanks! We love you bunches – Darin & Duana Sargent

    Like

  4. When we moved from Indiana to Texas, one the things I missed the most was our Ladies Conference. In the 10 years I lived in Indiana, I never missed one. It was difficult to miss it last year. (Although I had an absolute blast in Texas – I missed Indiana.) This year I hope to fly back to Indiana to attend the conference. My family will be there and I get to see them, and my good friend and mentor Jeniffer Cobb is speaking and I get to see her. And yes… there is nothing like the fellowship with the people of God.

    Like

  5. Yes, Sis. Buxton, there will be several of our next meetings with a bitter-sweet under tone. “He knows the path that we have taken.” Oh, yes I did change a word or two from the original text.

    Mervi

    Like

Leave a Reply

