Alexis Goggins Goes Home From Hospital

In the early part of last December she threw herself across her mother to shield her from the shooter, and in the process, Alexis Goggins was herself shot six times. She took a bullet in one of her eyes, was blinded, and during her hospital stay the eye was removed. Alexis caught the heart of the world, and in a few days a trust fund was established for her. Now, these months later, Alexis has been released from the hospital.

From Fox News

DETROIT — Alexis Goggins climbed aboard a special bicycle and maneuvered through hospital hallways, beginning the months of physical therapy she needs to recover from six gunshot wounds.

To many people, the soft-spoken 7-year-old is a hero after she threw herself across her mother just as a gunman was about to shoot the woman in an SUV.

“An angel is what I call her,” Seliethia Parker said of her daughter.

After more than two months in the hospital and six surgeries, Alexis was recently released. She returns twice a week for physical therapy.

Click here for photos.

The entire story is here.

This is one little heroic girl.

_______________________________________________________________________

My devotional blog is here.

3 thoughts on “Alexis Goggins Goes Home From Hospital

  1. Hello Shirley. I came across this article this morning on Fox News and it just hurt my heart. I have never read a news article and sobbed like a baby. I thank God that this little girl and her mother survived. I just kept thinking, how could somebody do this, and couldn’t stop crying. I live in Racine, WI. Violence in this country is rediculous and it keeps us praying over here. I was wondering if you knew of an email address for her mother, so that I may send her my sympathies directly? I hope they lock that man away for a long time. He’s in no condition to fellowship with society right now.

    Like

  2. Valerie Welker

    Growing up across the river from Detroit I saw so much violence there and in my home town. This is one true angel of God.
    Shirley, is the trust fund still available? Can you please repost the information to donate?

    Like

Leave a Reply

