Unusual Hole-in-One

The fifth hole was only 110 yards away, so Leo Fiyalko chose a five-iron for the shot. Having played golf for 60 years, he was familiar with the game, but because of his advancing age, he required assistance each time he played. Someone helped him line up the shot, he swung, struck accurately and soundly, and into the distance the ball disappeared.

His friend, Jean Gehring could see better than could Leo, and he thought the ball landed on the green. When they arrived there, he could not locate the ball…until he looked in the cup. Leo Fiyalko had hit a hole-in-one…the first of his career. Interesting thing: Leo is 92 years old and is totally blind!

Whoops and shouts erupted. Later, his friends at the Cove Cave Country Club in Florida presented him with a plaque to commemorate his feat.

Picture and information from sky.com

Hey, you golfers who are reading here. Ever got a hole-in-one? Know what your chances are? According to this site…

THE ODDS OF
GETTING A HOLE-IN-ONE

THE LONGEST LIST OF THE LONGEST STUFF AT THE LONGEST DOMAIN NAME AT LONG LAST

What are the odds of getting a hole-in-one?

0.01%

Next time you tee up that ball on a par 3 with dreams of putting it in the hole you might want to consider your chances before doing so.The odds of getting a hole-in-one are debatable, but we came to the conclusion that they are about 1 in 10,000.

Of course, the lower your handicap, the better your chances, and if you’re a typical duffer they can go up significantly to 1 in 40,000.

Dreaming of doing it twice in the same round? It’ll take you about 9 million rounds on average before you do so.

Happy whacking.

Now, figure that you’re 92 years old…and blind. Odds, anyone?

____________________________________________________________________

My devotional blog is here.

6 thoughts on “Unusual Hole-in-One

  1. Farrell Forrest Jr.

    Great story Shirley! I have never come close to hitting a hole-in-one. As Mervi quoted “I have sacrificed many a golf ball” he is not alone.
    I agree with you of the beauty of the golf course.

    Love Junior

    Junior, good to hear from you. I’m emailing you later in the day. Love

    Like

  2. arm5

    That’s awesome. It probably would take me the rest of my life to hit a hole in one but that would mean I would have to take up the most expensive game in the the world and I really don’t want to do that.

    Like

  3. Wow! I play a little golf here and there. A few of us ladies at the church took it up before we started jogging. And I sometimes go to the driving range with my husband. And knowing how I play… my chances of a hole in one is about negative 1000!!! lol!

    Like

  4. Yes, Sis. Buxton I have sacrificed many a golf ball, no clubs YET. At the altar of GOLF. A hole in one. I have read about many, but never seen one. This GREAT fellow did not see his either, this to me is great sadness. Not being able to see the ball fall. The lesson here is to do the best you can without regard to your own handy cap

    Mervi

    Like

  5. No Shirley, I don’t golf. Has always been something I plan to do but haven’t yet. My 8 year old grandson is the golfer (guess that’s because his dad is a semi-pro). He is amazing for his age; however he is sidetracked by horses and motorcycles. Couldn’t agree with you more about the beauty of courses, we have three in our little community.

    Like

  6. Unbelievable!!! Wonder if some men (and women) will close their eyes while swinging in hopes of getting a hole-in-one? Love stories like this one.

    Hi, Karen. Jerry plays golf a little, and occasionally I play–once every two years or so. 🙂 Have a set of Wal-Mart clubs…that kind of golfer. I’m terrible at it–always the worst of any who play. But any time I go, I always enjoy it, for the beauty of the courses, I think more than anything else. Love riding in the cart, too.

    You may be on to something. Next time I play, I’ll close my eyes, have someone line me up, and whack away!

    Do you golf?

    Like

Leave a Reply

