A Noble Love Sacrifice

“You have liver cancer,” the doctor said to the woman who was four months pregnant. “The only way we can treat you is to abort your baby.”

“No,” she courageously said.

She insisted on waiting long enough (before beginning treatment) to give her unborn son a chance to survive, telling her husband Martyn: “If I am going to die, my baby is going to live.”

She waited, treasuring every day she could give her son a chance at life. Then at 25 weeks she went into labor and he was born, tiny, but healthy.

Immediately, the chemotherapy was begun. But it was too late. On January 18th, two months after the birth of her son, Liam, this courageous mother died.

There are some beautiful, noble people in this world. The name of one of them is Lorraine Allard.
More pictures and details on Daily Mail site.
____________________________________________________________________
My devotional blog is here.

14 thoughts on “A Noble Love Sacrifice

  1. kristianangelhallie

    yes,Lorraine is hero mother.Liam is bless to have mother like her.Praise god to the family and be strong.

    Yes, even though Liam’s mother is gone, he indeed is blessed to have such a woman give him birth.

    Like

  2. onedixie

    I just read this story….it should serve as a model for others that think only of themselves. This little boy was given the ultimate gift, thanking for sharing!

    Oh, yes, we need models such as this. Our culture is dying because of such lack.

    Like

  3. I’ve been cathing up on your posts… this one got to me. I agree, there are some beautiful, noble people in this world Lorraine Allard is truly one of them.

    I looked into the eyes of that baby, and considered the heritage he has. His father has said he will not tell him of the sacrfice his mother made, but probably at some point in the son’s life, he will know. I wonder how he will feel.

    Like

  4. renaissanceguy

    I would not have condemned her or any woman for making the opposite choice. It’s a dilemma that has no perfect answer. I personally think she chose best, but as Mervi said, if I were the husband I would tell her that I wish I could have both her and the baby, that I could not make the choice for her, and that I would completely support her no matter what.

    My wife said without flinching that she would have made the same choice as Lorraine. I expected she would say that.

    R Guy, I believe almost any mother would “without flinching” make the same choice. But…sadly, there are some who would not…some who neglect and abuse their own flesh and blood. This beautiful story certainly offsets those others.

    Like

  5. Sis. Buxton:

    All I can do is speak from the male perspective. How would I feel if were my wife? Sadness knowing each day lessens my wife’s chance of surviving. Yet, each day would give our son a better chance of survival. I would ask a question. How, when or what strength did her husband provide to her during the time of her choice? I would hope that he stood with her and encouraged her everyday of her decision. Please understand all I can do is weight this act of love from a male perspective.

    Mervi

    Evening, Mervi. It’s good to have another male perspective and you raise valid points. From the article it sounds as though her husband was quite supportive. He speaks very highly of Lorraine. Such a sad case.

    Like

  6. So far everyone who has commented sees this woman as an example of love and courage. I know I do. But I wonder, if she had decided to have an abortion, if we would have judged her unkindly for acting out of fear and a strong will to live a long life with the man she loved and married.

    I’ve thought a lot, Helen, about her decision and how it affected her family. She had three other children–one is only 20 months old. Personally I would not have judged her unkindly if she had chosen otherwise, but I believe she made the ethical decision. I have no medical training at all, but I’ve heard quite a bit about liver cancer, and think it’s quite possible she would have died anyway.

    With what very difficult decisions people often are faced. Many would struggle as they worked through the options, but it sounds from this article that this mother gave scant consideration to abortion.

    I feel for the father and the three daughters who are left. Today I looked at their pictures and prayed for them. Soon, those little girls will have a baby brother at home. That gentleman has a huge assignment. I wish them all well.

    Like

  7. Oh my… I am in tears. There is nothing more beautiful than the beauty of love. Amen Helen, this is love.

    Thanks for sharing the story of Lorraine with us.

    You’re welcome, Von de Leigh. We must spread all the good news we can find, for we are forced to view and hear of evil every day. Love such as this is a golden treasure, even for us who don’t know those involved. Love touches us all, strengthens and refreshes us.

    Like

  8. What an amazing story! I am sitting here near to tears. Lorraine Allard is a real hero.

    Tears easily spring from our eyes when we read of such a loving person as was Lorraine. I applaud her courage and devotion to an unborn baby boy. What a heritage that child has.

    Like

  9. Oh my.

    Shirley, I don’t know that I could be so courageous as Lorraine.

    I am amazed at the sacrifice, and yet… you would hope that all parents would love their children just that much.

    **hugs**

    Thanks for sharing.

    You could, Jayleigh, you could.

    Like

Leave a Reply

