The Dentist Instead of a Mammogram?

A crown had come loose, so while we were in Crestline (drove home last night arriving here in Lake Havasu just before 11:00 pm) I visited my dentist and she and her assistant did their little cementing job and my “pearlies” are now fine. A few months ago, one of my neighbors was found to have oral cancer–it was our dentist who discovered the problem. I have heard of other conditions that dentists often diagnose, including diabetes.

It would have been neat, if Thursday as I sat in the dentist’s chair in Crestline, and Dr. Carlson was poking around in my mouth that she could have checked me for breast cancer.

“For breast cancer?” I’m hearing some of you protest.

Yes, breast cancer. A new study suggests that in the near future a simple saliva test may reveal the presence of cancer.

Breast cancer may one day be detected by dentists testing patients’ saliva.

According to research published in the journal Cancer Investigation, a U.S. team has found that women with breast cancer secrete particular proteins into the saliva that can be picked up by a test.

Click here for the study

Researchers in Houston, Texas, analyzed samples from 30 patients and found 49 proteins that differentiated those who were healthy from those who had breast cancer tumous. The proteins could also distinguish between tumors that are benign and malignant.

Sounds great to me–much better than those cold clamping devices to which, once a year, we must subject ourselves. 😦

Have you had your annual checkup? If not, make an appointment…or call your dentist. 🙂

____________________________________________________________________

My devotional blog is here. 

4 thoughts on “The Dentist Instead of a Mammogram?

  1. It’s almost January and most people time for “New Year Resolution.” I have researched many places online and haven’t found much about “dentist New year Resolution.”(Funny!!) Just thinking of many ideas to get individuals who don’t see dentists on regular basis to invest some “times” and visit a local dentist. Your ideas will be appreciated. Thank you

    Like

  2. Hello, dear Dean–

    I’ll tell you one thing that no one, except God, can know at our birth: the choice we will make that will determine our final and eternal home.

    A heavy thought, I know, but one of such crucial importance that, daily, we must consider our destination.

    Peace to you and to your sweet family.

    Like

  3. dean

    This article is making lots of waves here in H-town. I cant think of a more positive thing to come out of “that chair of torture”. Do you think we will see the day when all is known about us, at birth?? I think its scary. Peace

    Like

Leave a Reply

