“I Thought We Were About to Die.”

He’s already plotted his flight, and when I talked to him about an hour ago, Michael told me he and Mel will leave around 10:00 in the morning, and will fly to Hesperia, CA. That will be the longest trip he has flown as a solo pilot. The weather is supposed to be good and he sounded confident.

Having just had that conversation, this little news blip caught my eye a few minutes ago. Now although I am a calm flier, if I had been on the plane noted here, I too would have experienced great apprehension.

An injured passenger is transported to hospital from Calgary International Airport on Thursday, Jan. 10, 2008. (Larry MacDougal / THE CANADIAN PRESS)

An injured passenger is transported to hospital from Calgary International Airport on Thursday, Jan. 10, 2008. (Larry MacDougal / THE CANADIAN PRESS)

CTV.ca News Staff

Passengers on an Air Canada flight from Victoria to Toronto Thursday say they thought they were “about to die” when their plane suddenly jolted and shook uncontrollably in midflight.

Ten people were injured when the Airbus A319 they were on jerked from side to side and even plunged from its cruising altitude over the Rocky Mountains. The pilot was able to get control after about 10 or 15 seconds, but passengers say they had the scare of a lifetime.

The complete article is here.

I think I’ve talked about it before, but I don’t believe I have ever been in a plane that developed serious problems in the air…at least I didn’t know about it, if it did. I’m thankful.

____________________________________________________________________

My devotional blog is here.

5 thoughts on ““I Thought We Were About to Die.”

  1. Good morning, HELEN, JANA, and CATHERINE

    I hear you. My very dear friend Lil White also is afraid to fly. They have made numerous cross-country trips all by car.

    And Helen, you have hit on a crucial point–that of being uncomfortable…especially if you get a middle seat. I hate middle seats!

    Have a great day, all of you. We’ll keep our feet planted on terrafirma today.

    Like

  2. I’m with Jana. “I’ve had enough flying. Don’t care if I ever fly again.” No scary stories. Just don’t like being scrunched up and belted tight. Too9 many people in too small a space. And unfair pricing practices to boot! As in, some people pay a lot more than others for the same service. Don’t care if I ever fly again. Get a big SUV, and you’ve got all the comfort you need. LOL

    Like

  3. This is part of the reason why I don’t like to fly. We have had several scary experiences. Too many to mention but I’ll share a couple.

    Landing in Africa and pilot couldn’t get it stopped. Was going to run off runway into ocean and pilot thrust it back into the air. It was immediately hot as fire in the cabin.

    Landing in Dallas on an icy runway skidding sidways and being able to see the pilots view of the runway from a side window.

    Crossing the Atlantic Ocean and the plane suddenly fell 10,000 feet. (BTW Barbara Bush was on that flight with us and Brian and I were sitting between two of her secret service.)

    I’ve had enough flying. Don’t care if I ever fly again.

    Like

  4. Scary ride. My father told the story of his flight, fleeing North Africa, a small plane, packed, hitting turbulence, people sick etc… he too thought this was it. But I don’t recall anyone getting seriously injured.

    Like

Leave a Reply

