Intriguing News this Monday Morning

My read around this morning toggled my little brain with a few snappy news items. Take a look–you’ll be hooked also.

  • HUMAN HAIR USED IN MAKING PIZZA

FLORIDA CITY, Fla. — Walking into the small Florida City warehouse, Blair Blacker pauses to survey the towering pyramid of canvas bundles, each about the size of a punching bag, that contain the stock-in-trade of his business: human hair.

The article reports human hair to be used in ways that I expected, including the creating of false eyelashes and wigs. Surprisingly hair is also used to produce fertilizer, herbicide, deer repellent, and oil-spill-cleanup material. The most astonishing to me though was that human hair is an ingredient in pizza. Yep, you’re reading correctly. No, this is not a typo. Human hair can be a part of the pizza you’ll chew on for a late-night snack or as an ingredient in your next breakfast bagel.

  • DALLAS MORNING NEWS PROCLAIMS THE ILLEGAL IMMIGRANT TEXAN OF THE YEAR

Welcome to Texas

COURTNEY PERRY / DMN

Many opinions–pro and con–are here.

Given the public mood, there seems to be little middle ground in debate over illegal immigrants. Spectacular fights over their presence broke out across Texas this year, adding to the national pressure cooker as only Texas can.

COURTNEY PERRY / DMN

American prosperity is built in part on the backs of illegal-immigrant labor, such as these workers picking onions on a farm in South Texas.

  • DRUDGE REPORTS HILLARY CLINTON’S TEAM CONSIDERING HER WITHDRAWAL FROM PRESIDENTIAL RACE

(Drudge changes frequently. This was reported at 9:46 am EST on 1/7/8)

Facing a double-digit defeat in New Hampshire, a sudden collapse in national polls and an expected fund-raising drought, Senator Hillary Clinton is preparing for a tough decision: Does she get out of the race? And when?!

"She can't take multiple double-digit losses in New Hampshire, South Carolina and Nevada," laments one top campaign insider to the DRUDGE REPORT. "If she gets too badly embarrassed, it will really harm her. She doesn't want the Clinton brand to be damaged with back-to-back-to-back defeats."

Meanwhile, Democrat hopeful John Edwards has confided to senior staff that he is staying in the race because Hillary "could soon be out."

"Her money is going to dry up," Edwards confided, a top source said Monday morning.

    Not at all the thrust of the referenced article that I hope you will read, and although I am not at all a Clinton supporter, I wish the media would refrain from placing emphasis on her appearance. I’ve seen more than one uncomplimentary picture of her, with comments concerning her worn and aging looks. Does that have anything to do with her ability to be president of the United States? I think not, although I grant that appearances are important, and that we want a president who represents well our great country.

    I’m wanting to hear from you this morning. Have an opinion on any of these news items?

    ____________________________________________________________________

    My devotional blog is here.

    10 thoughts on “Intriguing News this Monday Morning

    1. Ed, did you know that in the national polls Huckabee is ahead…at least that was news I heard this morning…have been traveling all day and am a little out of touch.

      Sorry I didn’t pick up on your subtle ways.

      Like

    2. I don’t think Huckabee will. Personally, I like McCain a lot, and despite several policy differences we have, I think he’s the class of the Republicans.

      But my Huckabee prediction, made as it was after the results were known, was just a too subtle joke on the issue of making predictions.

      Like

    3. Good morning, Ed–Welcome to my blog.

      Of course. Predictions are just that, and nothing more. Quite often, they are wrong…as even the polls from yesterday proved…for Democrats, that is.

      We won’t know until November, will we?

      It’s an important subject, though, and we need to consider carefully whom we will elect as President of our great country.

      You know one thing I like about Hillary Clinton? Her voice. I think she has a wonderful sounding speaking voice. Can’t sing, though. I believe I heard her once and it was not exceptionally beautiful.

      Thanks for the comment.

      Like

    4. Don’t count Hillary out. Don’t count chicks before they hatch, don’t count delegates before they’re elected.

      I mean, what would such a prediction look like if the impossible were to happen, and Hillary were to actually win in New Hampshire?

      Of course, Huckabee will surge from behind to end John McCain’s run, too . . .

      [check the time and date of this post]

      Like

    5. JAYLEIGH–so sorry to upset your day, my friend, especially with the hair and the politics. Truth is truth, however, and must be faced. 🙂

      Watch it, KIKIKARIA–can’t be happnin’ here.

      MERVI–Think you’re right about Hillary, but it is not looking good for her.

      WESTON–Welcome to my blog. I always feel honored when a “youngster” comes my way. Hope you visit and comment often.

      Like

    6. Sis. Buxton;

      Thank you so very much for this enlightening revelation for my dislike of pizza!!

      As to Miss Clinton dropping out of the political race, she has far too much ego involved to withdraw at this early date, personal option.

      Mervi

      Like

    7. OK…. human hair in my food? Why oh why?!?

      As far as political issues go, I guess those are best left to those who know more about such things. I surely have my opinions, but I don’t live and die by the news… so I’m probably not as well informed as I could be.

      I make a huge point not to begin researching candidates until the middle of the summer. It’s mostly about choosing the lesser of two evils. And I can’t get all riled up about it just yet. I mean, we just finished up with the Holidays. Can’t we have a moment’s rest?

      Thanks for the food for thought, Shirley! Hope your day went well!

      Like

    Leave a Reply

    