Tucson Conqueror’s Conference Report

Last night the auditorium was packed, and extra chairs were set to accommodate the 1200 people who attended the final service of the Conqueror’s Conference in Tucson. It was a dynamite conference, with powerful preaching, outstanding music, and beautiful people.

Jerry and I survived, thank you very much. The last function of the conference was a “banquet” last night after church, so it was around midnight when we got to bed. We were up at 6:00 this morning, ate breakfast in the dining room at 6:30, and at 7:20 (10 minutes ahead of our self-imposed schedule) our luggage and the girl’s luggage stowed away, we pulled from the parking lot of the Radisson onto Speedway and headed toward the freeway. I believe both girls were asleep before we left the city limits….and they slept most of the way home.

By 2:30 we had taken the girls to Brittany’s house in Kingman, made it to our place in Lake Havasu and had unloaded all our gear. About 4:00 I fell into unconsciousness on the couch, and Jerry was in like state in his recliner. 🙂

I love this picture of Brittany and Shelby that I snapped as they were descending in the glass elevator. They are sweet, tender girls whose histories have yet to be charted, and whose life journal is yet unscribed. I want them to be happy, to have stable marriages and beautiful, healthy children. I wish them joy and peace and prosperity. I am bent on the day they will know true love, and the moment they will experience the long glance of an adoring husband. Most of all I want them to continue their approach to God, and their dedication to His plan for their lives. He has such anticipation for each of them. You know that, don’t you?

____________________________________________________________________

My devotional blog is here. 

 

8 thoughts on “Tucson Conqueror’s Conference Report

  1. You’re so right, Kevin. There is truly nothing like the work of God. Often when I’m praying I thank God that He called me to work for Him. He is absolutely my life and I really can’t imagine living any other way.

    Onward then!

    Like

  2. It is awesome to see you i-n-v-o-l-v-e-d in ministry in this fashion! So many times the new generation doesn’t have the time to mentor someone.

    They are too busy with their schedules or life as they say. But there is no joy like seeing God change the hearts of young people and make something great out of them for the Kingdom’s sake!

    Like

  3. Jayleigh,

    When I look at young people such as Brittany and Shelby and think closely of the world in which they are maturing, I am jarred by the understanding of their faint chance of success. I truly believe that only through Jesus will they ever find the peace and direction they so desperately need.

    In one of our conversations as we traveled, they spoke of both their town’s reeking with drugs. “There’s a dealer on every corner,” Brittany said once.

    “Know what the second most popular thing in town is?” one of them asked Jerry and me.

    “No, what?”

    “Sex,” she firmly said.

    I weep as I think of these girls and thousands–millions– others who are faced with such challenges. I don’t want to sound negative, or to be negative, but at the same time, we must be honest if we are to meet the needs of our society.

    How will we ever do it? I ask you, Jayleigh. It surely must involve a work of the Holy Ghost.

    Love you

    Like

  4. Shirley, I’m sitting here nearly in tears after reading your post. You’re such a great, descriptive writer and I was “in” that moment of your last paragraph.

    Thanks for spending your time showing those sweet girls God’s love.

    **big hugs**

    Like

  5. Good morning, Debbie–

    Thank you for caring about Jerry and me, and especially for praying for us here in Lake Havasu. It’s quite a ride.

    I hope I don’t come off as complaining about our lives and what we’re doing–for that is not at all how I feel. I honestly believe I am privileged to be so long directly involved in the work of God. I tell you truly it is my life and my joy. I can’t imagine having such opportunity stripped from me.

    After all, one grows tired no matter what one does, and anyway I have this high energy level, and sometimes the younger ones around me are panting as we make our jaunt through life.

    Love you and hubby.

    Like

  6. Debbie

    You and Bro. Buxton still have it going on!!! I love what you said about the girls. . .”They are sweet, tender girls whose histories have yet to be charted, and whose life journal is yet unscribed. ” You both are helping to chart their lives in the right direction! They will never forget what they experienced and felt at that convention. My hat is off to both of you for daring to go where few people have gone! We pray for you and the church in Lake Havasu.

    Like

Leave a Reply

