Hanging with Teens

I haven’t determined whether we are extra smart, or extra lacking in smarts–Jerry and me–for here in the frisky days of the year 2008, we are ensconced in the towers of the Radisson in Tucson. Asleep in their beds (presumably, and hopefully!) in the adjoining room to ours are a couple of teen-aged girls that we brought yesterday from Lake Havasu to a youth conference here at Paul Conner’s church. (a seven hour trip!) Tell me–what are we doing? We’re not exactly of the age to be zipping around with young people, hanging out at youth conferences, and discussing late night “lock-ins.”

What we’re doing is making a stab at linking a couple of sweet girls to a vibrant crowd of enthusiastic young people who have decided to follow Jesus. We ‘re intent on enticing them to the Good Life by giving them a long look at the joy and beauty that emanates from several hundred young people who have dedicated their lives to righteous and godly principles.

We could do with a little extra prayer the next couple of days–Jerry and I. ๐Ÿ™‚

____________________________________________________________________

My devotional blog is here.

21 thoughts on “Hanging with Teens

  1. Pingback: Tucson Conqueror’s Conference Report « Shirley Buxton

  2. Cheri

    Sis Buxton, Our young people are at that same conference, it is one that our Pastor Loves for them to go to, I unfortunately am home sick for the 2nd week, YUCK, you and your husband are great examples that at any age we can feel young, isnt it said that it is the people that you “hang” around that makes you feel that way, it is great that you are there, love you

    Like

  3. I admire and commend you both for your love of souls regardless of their age. If there’s anything young people need it’s someone to mentor them and take an interest in them. We used to love to go to the Roberts’ home back when we were in our early 20’s. They were old enough to be our grandparents, but we so enjoyed spending time with them.

    Like

  4. You know what they say – you are as old as… Well hats off to you Bro and Sis Buxton!!! In soul winning, all goes. What are you two doing? A good work. Love it!
    But yes, I know what you are saying, my mind and my body are on two different pages.
    God bless you and give you strength do to His work .

    Catherine

    Like

  5. I, in some way, understand what you’re saying. My husband and I took 7 young people to Youth Congress in North Carolina last summer. We had fun and the conference was incredible – BUT – I kept wondering what in the world we were doing! LOL!! When you’re building a church – you just do what you have to do! I salute you both for the work you are doing.

    Like

  6. Michael

    I remember the youth conference days, They were some of the best days of my life.I will remember them all my life. I salute you for giving these girls a hope that they would never be able to have.Love you, see you Sunday Michael

    Like

  7. I have to agree with the one comment that those two girls are lucky girls indeed. I don’t know you other than thru your blog, but if you raised a son like Bro. Steve Buxton, you have to be wonderful peaple. Just reading your blog makes me know that knowing you and being your friend would be a priveledge indeed. I am reading your book “A link to excellence” Thank you for all the ways you touch peaple.

    Like

  8. Well, here is my two cents. You and Bro. Buxton are like my parents. I never thought they were old. My mother is now 82 years old and is still quite a card. She was at my house New Year’s Eve/New Year’s until after 3 in the morning. Laughing, eating, and styling as always. She refuses to be “old.” The same can be said for you two. You refuse to be old. That is just a part of the reason we love you so much. You not only love life, but you give “life” to others. I’m just proud to know ya! ๐Ÿ™‚ XO

    Like

  9. Are these girls ones who hopefully will be going to the church in Lake Havasu? Mom says, “Lord, bless Bro. & Sis. Buxton. Their labor is not in vain in the Lord.” Besides, it gives an extra boost of enthusiasm to be inspired by the younger crowd. Youth is not wasted on the young or the old. Hope you had a grand time at the Radisson!

    Like

  10. Hello, everybody. Thank you for your sweet comments and support.

    Both the girls were down in the altar at the conclusion of this morning’s service, on the floor, weeping.

    This afternoon, they spent a couple of hours at the mall, and at 5:00 we’re heading to Olive Garden for dinner, then on to church.

    It’s been a great day. Keep praying. ๐Ÿ™‚ Love all of you.

    Like

  11. Steve Saiz

    Sis. Buxton,

    Awesome! You two are incredible! I recently re-read your book “A Thousand Pieces.” As I read through the chapters, I remembered visiting you and Bro. Buxton in the hospital and how you and your family watched as God did the miraculous. I have realized that “brokenness” in God only serves for Him to build a greater capacity for Him and His Kingdom. Job had double the blessing at the end. You and Bro. Buxton are the proof of that realization. You are an incredible inspiriation to me and I’m sure for many others!

    Like

  12. Hey, Mervi and Tim–

    Thanks for your support.

    Tim, I believe the girls do appreciate this opportunity. They are sweethearts. Unfortunately Shelby (16) is a bit sick, and spent the night throwing up…she’s going to try to make it to this morning’s session, though.

    Like

  13. Sis. Buxton:
    The age old saying is that we are as old as the company we keep. (?) I know the feeling, with five teenage grandchildren, youth camps, youth conferences and some trips. Yes, it will start you wondering, โ€œWhat have I done?โ€ The answer, in my option, is a good work.
    Have a great time;
    Mervi

    Like

Leave a Reply

