Christmas 2007 in Review

Christmas Ham, originally uploaded by Shirley Buxton.
A departure from tradition found us with no turkey and dressing at our Christmas dinner, but we suffered little, for this delectable ham held its own as a tasty entree. I cooked the dinner on Christmas eve while Steve and Dearrah were still with us. Rebecca joined us as did our dear friends, the Patrick Garrett family.

As a Christmas gift, Mike and Mel had given me the fine Shun knife you see Jerry using here to slice the ham. It is a wonderful knife–the finest I have ever owned–and when I first used it I was astonished at the difference between it and the one I had formerly called my best knife.
I must have got carried away when I fashioned the yeast rolls, because they turned out big as turnips. Yummy, though…hot and yeasty. Slathered with butter, they approached perfection.
Everyone was at the table, ready to eat, except for Rebecca and Steve, when I heard a commotion in the kitchen and went there to find this sight. I had already caught Steve snagging and eating a roll a few minutes earlier.
It was a wonderful day, the weather was warm as I have mentioned before, and before bedtime, everyone had gone. Rebecca and Nathaniel had planned to spend the night, but when she went down the hill to pick him up, the wind  was howling so that she was afraid to drive back up the mountain in the dark, for we always have rock slides during such weather and it can be quite dangerous.
So, after a wonderful Christmas Eve of eating and visiting, Jerry and I tucked outselves into bed. Roaring winds blew, the full moon shined through our high bedroom window, and I lay awake a bit thinking of my blessings, of my gifts, and of my richness.
__________________________________________________________________
My devotional blog is here.

 

5 thoughts on “Christmas 2007 in Review

  1. Hello, ESTHER–

    Sounds like a perfect Christmas to me…noisy, and happy. Glad you were able to spend so much time with your children, but sorry we missed seeing you. Perhaps it will work out next visit.

    CAROL–

    Hope your Christmas was joyous and that this new year will bring all of you success and prosperity…especially in God!

    Love to all of you

    Like

  2. Esther

    Glad you had a happy Christmas eve. Our Christmas eve, Christmas day and day after Christmas was very haphazard, fun, loud, roudy and everything else inbetween. And, I loved it all. Besides our 3 daughters, their kids and 2 husbands, one of my nieces, bubby and 2 kids came. Then there was me and Papa and 10 grandkids from age 10 months up to 12 years and then 2 older grandsons 16 and 21 who acted just like the little ones, all wanting attention, opening gifts, yelping and scwabbling. And, then the big dinner with nonstop talking and almost nonstop eating. We had ham also. Andrew fixed it and it was very good. The kids insisted on my fried chicken so we also had that. Along with everything that went with both. Papa and I had a wonderful 8 days with everyone. Tena fixed her famous Clam Linquini ? the day after Christmas. Yum, Yum…… even the picky eater kids liked it.
    After all that, we are back home in our quiet little house in Mississippi. New Year’s will be very peaceful. But, I already miss the little ones. Someday, God willing, we can get back closer to them all. Blessed 2008 to you and Bro. Buxton and many more to come. Much Love

    Like

Leave a Reply

