Sage Sings in Church

Those who read here often know how fond I am of my family, and I suppose if I’m not careful I speak too much of us and of our accomplishments. Lots of preachers in our family, lots of church activities, but I’m ready to show you now one of our failures: We’re abysmal at creating videos. Although I’m not a YouTube or any other video- viewing- expert, I’m judging this one as surely one of the worst ever produced.

Why then am I posting it on my striving-always-for-excellence site is the obvious question. Because the video was taken at Hilltop Tabernacle in Chula Vista and is of my great-granddaughter, Sage Buxton. She is four years old and the video records her first time to sing a solo in church.

I couldn’t understand a word she was saying until I saw that the name of the song is Wasn’t That a Mighty Day When Jesus Christ was Born. After that piece of understanding I can now pick out a few words. It’s a terrible video. It’s a gorgeous video. When you see it, you will agree with me that Sage has a beautiful voice, and a precise sense of timing. You will agree that Sage is beautiful. You will agree that her smile is captivating. You will agree that I made the right decision to post this video on my blog. You will agree that our family needs to stick with writing, preaching, teaching, cooking supper and doing laundry–not producing movies. 🙂

I’m sorry, but it seems the only way to see this video is to follow this link. I told you we don’t know what we’re doing…or maybe we do…not at all sure.

Sage Buxton singing on YouTube

____________________________________________________________________

My devotional blog is here.

13 thoughts on “Sage Sings in Church

  1. HOLLY, I’ve called a chiropractor to make a call at your house. Don’t move ’til he/she gets there. (I actually turned my laptop on its side!)

    HELEN, next time they’re going to video Sage, I’m going to recommend they call you and get some- what must be basic- instructions. I know you’ll be willing to hop right down to San Diego…after all it would be for a blogging friend. 🙂 Not sure how many chiropractor bills I can handle.

    JANA, I think she was tearing up a couple of times, but made it through. She is a really sweet little girl.

    Like

  2. Holly Bren

    Wow – Sage is gorgeous, and does a superb job of singing. You have every right to be proud.

    Now – does anybody know of a good Chiropractor who can help with this kink in my neck? I tried turning my monitor on it’s side, but the cord wouldn’t reach.

    Love you, love your family,

    HG

    Like

  3. Ok. I got it now. My youtube clips have always allowed clicking on the play arrow.

    She was darling!!! Not only did she sing well, but she had the concert dress, stage presence, and smiles, too.

    Like

  4. I’m telling, you, Ronda, I cannot imagine how they took those pictures. Don’t worry about observing the lack of professionalism in the images. You would hardly be sane if you failed to notice.

    Anyway, thanks for looking and talking and for realizing how superb is Sage.

    Merry Christmas!

    Like

  5. Sage is beautiful and did a super job. She has a great little voice. And yes, your grand-kids really are…! 🙂 I didn’t want to mention the quality of the video, however was someone laying on their side when they took it? 🙂 Oh well, at least it was held still for the most part. And it didn’t take away from the quality of Sage’s voice and her cuteness. 🙂

    Like

  6. Good morning, Von de Leigh–

    Thanks for your comments…and your indulgence. That’s one of the great things about being a grandparent–you can carry on about the drop-dead gorgeous geniuses you have produced, and, while behind your back, everybody is probably rolling their eyes in frustration, to your face, they pat you on the shoulder and say, “Yes, yes, my dear they’re wonderful.” 🙂

    The thing is: Mine really are!

    Love and merry Christmas!

    Like

  7. That is so precious. I’m glad you posted the video anyway. Wow! She’s grown up. Just a year and a half ago when we lived in San Diego we got together a few times with Chris and Joel and their families and Sage seemed (was) so little. How time flies. It makes me want to treasure every minute with my 7 1/2 month old. Don’t worry, you can never post too much about your family… especially grandkids. =) Those who know your dear sweet family love any updates.

    Like

Leave a Reply

