Presents Don’t Get Any Better Than This

“Shirley.”

“Yes?” I answered a few minutes ago.

“Did you read about the young man who just found his mother he had never known?”

“No, where is the story?”

The story is here and is one of the most beautiful and touching you will ever read.

In Grand Rapids, Michigan, Steve Flaig worked as a delivery truck driver at one of the Lowe’s stores in the area. He was 22 years old, and had known from the time he was small that he was adopted. At the age of 18 with the full support of his adoptive parents he began to search for his biological mother.

There must have been some early Christmas spirit flitting around for last October after doing research through the agency that arranged his adoption, he learned his mother’s maiden name.

He typed “Tallady” into a search engine and came up with an address on West River Drive less than a mile from the Lowe’s store.

He mentioned it to his boss, and she said, “You mean Chris Tallady, who works here?” He was stunned.

For two months, Steve kept the information, secretly looking at his mother as she worked, and contemplating how to share this news with her. He was cautious, not knowing if she would be open to such a revelation. Finally last week, he went to the adoption agency and told them of the situation. As Steve sat there, one of the social workers called his mother and told her she had information about her son.

“The first thing that crossed my mind is something was wrong with him,” she said. Was he sick? Did he need a blood transfusion?”

“And then she said, ‘Christine, he works with you,'” Tallady recalled. “It was a shock. I started crying. I figured he would call me sometime, but not like this.”

She sobbed a lot that day, tears of joy. Flaig called her later that day, and last Friday the two, who until then had occasionally said “hi” as coworkers do, met at the Cheers Good Time Saloon near the store. They hugged, sat and talked for 2 1/2 hours.

From the Grand Rapids Pressย 

On Tuesday at work, they hugged again. Yes, there really is a spirit of Christmas. Yes, wonderful and touching moments such as these do graze our senses from time to time. Yes, there is love in the world, and healing for long-ago hurts, and joy and connection and sweetness and light. Chimes yet play, sparkling lights glisten, and, I promise, angels still sing.

Christmas presents don’t get any better than this.

___________________________________________________________________

My devotional blog is here.

11 thoughts on “Presents Don’t Get Any Better Than This

  1. Well said, Shirley. There really are just so many things to think about that it can make one’s head spin! He will always hear good things from us about his BM, whom we had the honor to meet and spend quality time with… it is only to be expected that he will indeed want to meet her someday.

    God’s blessings, and merry Christmas to you too…

    Like

  2. Good evening, Lou and Jaime–Thank you for commenting on my site.

    I can’t speak from personal experience because I was not adopted, nor did I adopt out any of my babies, but I do have an opinion based on observations of people who are adopted, and of my own feelings.

    I agree with both of you in some respects, and disagree in others. I’m in total agreement that Steve’s mother and father are the Flaigs who have reared him. But I believe also in biology, and understand the curiosity Steve has concerning his mother.

    First, let me say in response to Jaime’s concern for the adoptive mother that she and Steve’s father supported Steve in his search for his biological mother. Although I don’t know the details, I did not have the understanding that there was a troublesome relationship with his parents.The following paragraph is taken from the Grand Rapids Press.

    “For Flaig, it was the reunion he had dreamed of for much of his 22 years. He had always known he was adopted, and his parents, Pat and Lois Flaig, who raised him since his birth, supported his decision to search for his birth mother.”

    Lou, I don’t know if you are a mother or not, and I know that Jaime is. I have four children, and if by some circumstance I had felt it best to give one up for adoption, I can’t believe I could ever dismiss my motherhood. I just could not deny that biologically I had given birth to a child who existed in the world somewhere. I would want to see him and know him–if at all it were possible.

    As far as Steve is concerned, I believe I would feel the same way he does, and I don’t think that means he is unappreciative of his parents and the sacrifices they have made for him.

    I’m very close to an adoptive family. The parents are some of my closest friends, and their two adopted children –now grown–are dearest friends of two of my children. When the young man matured, he wanted to find his biological parents: He did and a wonderful relationship developed. When his sister cautiously tried to contact her biological parents she was rejected. But I believe she is not sorry that she made the effort to contact them. It was a little hard on my friends, the adoptive parents, but they agreed with their children seeking their biological parents.

    I appreciate your viewpoints, and Jaime, I do hope your story ends happily. Plan on it.

    God bless both of you…and have a merry Christmas.

    Like

  3. I’m with Lou on this one… As an adoptive mother myself, I can’t help but wonder about the silent adoptive parents of this story. We hear nothing about his adoptive mother yet she is truly the one who has “mothered” him. How does she feel? How does this effect their home life? My stomach will be in knots when/if my son decides to locate his biological parents someday. While I would hope and pray for the best outcome, many stories do not end happily… I hope ours does ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  4. Lou

    I’m different on this. I dont see the signifigance of blood as creating a familial bond. Mother and father are determined by the act of raising the offspring, not blood. His mother is the woman that raised him. The woman who gave him up for adoption – a supreme act of love to be sure – is not his mom. I wonder if it was a sperm doner dad if the sentiments would be the same. Is a sperm doner dad who takes no role in raising his son a “father”? No way.

    Like

  5. Hello, Lucas–good to hear from you again.

    Yes, Lucas, I believe your story is as exciting as that of Steve and his mom. It may not have involved such coincidence as did theirs, and it obviously wasn’t your first connection with a biological parent, but the telling of a story of one who is reunited with a his parent is always beautiful and touching. Thank you for sharing with us here.

    And to you–a wonderful, merry Christmas.

    Shirley

    Like

  6. This reminds me of my own story about finding my father. I had known his name from my mother for a few years, and periodically looked him up on google, not finding him (his first name corresponds to a city name here, so I got a lot of fake positive results). I did finally find him in 2000, thanks to a comment on a guestbook. I then discovered that the other side of my family included two younger sisters (I was extatic to find I was a big brother to two beautiful girls!) and another batch of uncles and aunts (large families on both sides). My story isn’t nearly as exciting as those two, but I understand the feeling of finding a parent you thought you might never see.

    Lots of joy and love to them and to everyone. And happy holidays!

    :Lucas

    Like

  7. What a beautiful story! This one and the story about the man and three kids lost while looking for a Christmas tree brought tears to my eyes. Yes, the Christmas spirit still lives on!

    Merry Christmas, Carol. Yes, the Christmas spirit still lives.

    Like

Leave a Reply

