First Christmas Card

DSC_0113, originally uploaded by Shirley Buxton.

In our mail that had accumulated while we were home for Thanksgiving was this–our first Christmas card of the season. What a joy to receive it and to see the faces of these our children, Steve and Dearrah, whom we have not seen since August. Soon it will be more than a card, though, for on the 24th of December, they will visit us at our home in Crestline!

Receiving that card gave me a little jolt, I must confess, for it brings to the front of my mind that my own cards are not finished–actually I haven’t even bought them. 😦 I wrote a couple of weeks ago about not having done shopping yet–don’t know what it is, but I am quite behind this year with my preparations. (Did get most of my shopping done when I was home at Thanksgiving time, though.) I believe it may be because I’m in the motorhome and it all is just so different from last year at home in Crestline when I wrote this:

DSC_0322, originally uploaded by Shirley Buxton.

I’m so excited about Christmas and am completely through decorating my house. While our family and friends were here for Thanksgiving, Andrew helped with the outside lights, hung the giant wreath on our stair wall, and the lighted globes in the game room window. Christmas is my favorite time of the year and I try to make it last as long as I can. I forget about this beautiful young lady after I pack her up in January, but I always grin when I find her in a box as I tear through my decorations. She sets on the window sill behind my sink. We smile at each other a lot!

Finally, we’re having winter here and that makes me even more excited. I love every minute of it.

Alaskan Storm To Impact The Area Monday And Monday Night

Special Weather Statement From The National Weather Service

By RIMOFTHEWORLD.net
Saturday, November 25, 2006

A cold winter storm will likely bring the first widespread rain and snow of the season late Sunday night through Tuesday. Snow levels will start around 6000 feet, but lower to near 4500 feet by Monday night. Several inches of snow are possible. Snow, rain, and fog will likely make driving difficult.

Well, we’ve had a little winter here in Lake Havasu–couple of days of rain, and pretty cold temperatures. We’ve taken to wearing jackets and have the furnace on here in the motor home. But there’s no snow. 😦

Last night Jerry talked to Ken, our neighbor in Crestline, who said, “Tell Shirley she missed the first snow. Little dusting a couple of nights ago and some still on the ground.” I get teased even in Crestline because I love snow so much. Don’t think I have posted a picture of the little wooden image I have which says, “Think Snow!” but one day I will. A couple of years ago when we had a large amount of snow that wouldn’t seem to stop, Ken and Nancy demanded I remove the sign from our deck!

No matter where we live–the holidays are rolling and Christmas is in the air! I’ve strung lights and greenery across the dash of our motorhome, and some pretty red beads are hanging from stacked up glass cake stands, and I have twinkling clear lights around an arrangement that sets beside my computer and it cheers me, and sometimes we turn our XM radio to the 24 hour Chrismas Carol station. Christmas is definitely my favorite time of the year …even here in the middle of the desert. Anyway Jesus lives here too…and it’s His birthday! I need to bake some cakes…and certainly get the cards going.

_____________________________________________________________________

My devotional blog is here.

 

 

9 thoughts on “First Christmas Card

  1. I just got around your post today. Your comment “Tena, yes, things change…” – just what I needed.
    I thought that I was weak because I feel that way, and it’s not easy for me either. Even though they live close by, I really don’t spend much time at all with my children – they are busy. At least some go to the same church, three times a week, I see them there.
    I’m an older mom with you Sister Buxton.
    God bless you richly in all you do.

    Like

  2. Sis. Buxton, it’s amazing how big of a hole Mike left in so many people’s lives. His birthday was last Saturday. I just can’t dwell on him too long; I don’t want to cry. I want to be happy. Sigh…
    Thanks for loving me.

    Like

  3. JANA, I wish I could hear you and Brian sing that song. I know–put a recording on YouTube. Tell me and I’ll post it on my blog! Great idea. πŸ™‚

    TENA, yes, things change. That is certainly one area of my life I’ve had to deal with and that has been difficult for me. I’d like my kids to be at my house more than they are…but I think I’m not the only older mom feeling that way. Seems to be a common problem that we just have to deal with. 😦 (After all, they do have families and plans of their own…I know, πŸ™‚ I know….)

    But yes! I will enjoy Christmas no matter who puts their precious little feet on our floors in Crestline.

    San Diego for Christmas? You could do much worse my friend. And to be with your mom and your sisters–wonderful!

    I know all of you miss Mike so much, especially this time of the year. I still can hardly believe he’s gone.

    Love you

    Like

  4. We won’t be home for Christmas this year. We’ll be in beautiful San Diego!

    The past three Christmas’ have been very different for us. But, we have much to be thankful for, so we make the best of every situation. πŸ™‚ I’m just so happy to have my husband and my two boys, no matter where we go.

    I’m also happy that I’m going to be seeing my mom; it’s been too long since I’ve seen her.

    Our attitude toward change dictates whether we have a good time or not. We choose to have a blast this Christmas!

    P.S. Thanks for the Christmas card reminder; whew!

    Like

  5. I LOVE Christmas season. It has become an annual tradition for Brian and I to sing a song written by Lanny Wolfe. Some of the lyrics are, “How I wish Christmas would never end, the joy in the air, and the love that we share, as we gather with family and friends, when the snow melts away and decorations come down, I hope the spirit we share, will still be around, how I wish Christmas would never end.”

    Like

  6. Hi Shirley. I quit sending cards about a decade ago. But still there’s much to do. We hope to get our tree up today. Many gifts are bought – and yes, thank you, Al Gore, for inventing the internet πŸ™‚ – but not wrapped. In fact, they are stuffed everywhere. But I do love Christmas time.

    Like

  7. Reading this post put me in panic mode. I told myself I would NOT wait until the last minute to send out cards this year (again). Okay… as soon as I hit ‘submit’ I’m setiing the time and date to take our picture so I make the cards!!

    Thanks for the much needed motivation. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

