Happy 108th Birthday, Olive

birrhtday-close-up.jpg

Picture from her site……………………………….

EDIT: JULY 13, 2008 On Saturday, July 12, Olive Riley slipped from this earth to the chambers of eternity. More about that here.

When I wrote about her, she was only 107 years old, but through the peculiar doings of a typo and the mere flip of a keystroke, I added a year to her already remarkably aged life, calling her 108. Now, feisty Olive Riley continues to defy the norm, is indeed 108 and recently celebrated with a wild birthday party. The link takes you right to the video that shows school children singing, her birthday cake and her blowing out the candles…and the wild part. It’s a scream.

Olive who lives on the central coast of South Wales maintains her own blog–which she once called a blob–and has with good reason been called The World’s Oldest Blogger. She’s adorable and quite witty. If you have time to check around, you will find lots of material on the internet.

I’ve gone to her site and posted birthday greetings, and in addition I’m using my site to wish her a very happy birthday, continued health, energy, life, and the eternal blessings of God. Let’s make this a gigantic card for this remarkable and blessed woman, Olive Riley. Please add your greeting, and I’ll let her know the card is here.

____________________________________________________________________

My devotional blog is here.

9 thoughts on “Happy 108th Birthday, Olive

  1. Pingback: Olive Riley, World’s Oldest Blogger, Dies « Shirley Buxton

  2. (I received this email on Oct. 18 from Mike, who had tried to place a comment here, but for some reason could not–Shirley)

    Shirely, thanks for passing around th news of Olive and her birthday. I was trying to leave you a message on your blog, saying that the magic moment for me yesterday was not the kids singing, though that was wonderful, but the moment I walked into her room at 93.0 to see if she was ready. We had a short exchange, which you can see on the singing clip which was Olive at her best, and the essence of our relationship. Mike the helper

    Like

  3. It does my heart good. It’s amazing. I once asked the Lord if I could live to be 100. He’s been good to me and who knows? Maybe I’ll live to be that old. This gives me faith to believe for myself. Love, Mom Contino (at 68).

    Like

  4. Pingback: 108 Years Old Olive Riley Begins a Blog « Shirley Buxton

Leave a Reply

