108 Years Old Olive Riley Begins a Blog

Final Edit July 12, 2008. Olive Riley died yesterday. More details here.

Edit: October 18th, 2007  When I wrote this article, for some reason, I called Olive 108 years old, when really at the time of that writing, she was “only” 107. Sorry about that. Now, though, she really is 108 and has celebrated with a wild party. I wrote about it this morning...I wish her many more years. Click on the link above and write a birthday greeting for her. She deserves it, wouldn’t you say! 108 years old, still active, still smiling, still spunky. Love it.

I can’t recall that I have ever spoken with anyone over the internet who was older than I; I always seem to be the oldest. And in my meetings and “runnings around” I’m usually with younger people. Oh, sometimes I’m with people my age and occasionally with someone a few years older, but it is not a frequent occurence.

Someone was so kind to me a couple of days ago on his blog, referring to me as the matriarch of blogging and encouraging people to read here! I loved it, and really did appreciate it.

But, today, I found this story of 108 year old—you heard right—108 year old Olive Riley who has started a blog. It’s a scream and you must go over and read. Lots of pictures of this beautiful woman from Australia who does not at all look to be 108 years old.

Yeah! I’m not the oldest one on the World Wide Web!

Olive’s Second Post

February 20th, 2007 | Uncategorized | 59 Comments

Good morning everyone. Last Saturday Mike took me to Nina’s little shop on the road to McMaster’s beach.

Olive and Nina in front of shop

See many more pictures and read more here.

_________________________________________________________

Read my daily devotional here.

14 thoughts on “108 Years Old Olive Riley Begins a Blog

  1. Hi Shirley, it seems like you gave Olive a lot of attention on your excellent blog.

    She was indeed irresistable, I can attest to that, having spent may hundreds of hours with her, recording her, filming her, and just hanging out.

    There is a big hole in my life now.

    You know, I thought she’d make 110.

    When we were shooting her movie, (All about Olive) in Broken Hill in 2004, I saw one day, some newly planed olive trees.

    I asked the guy watering them when they’d bear fruit and he guessed in 2010.

    “Ollie,” I cried, we gotta come back for that, those first olive’s should be tasted by you!”

    Alas it was not to be. Sadly too the interest she’d begun to take in the huge wind farm to be built near her beloved Broken Hill, wont come to anything either.

    I thought it was the ultimately amazing thing that here, she was, 108, and she’s worried about global warming and whether wind can be part of the solution.

    “You’ve got have her on the payroll,” I told the folks at Epuron, the company building the wind farm, and I think they were almost convinced I was right.

    Mike her helper

    Like

  2. Pingback: ¥¤»LûÏgÏ’s BlØg!«¤¥ » Blog Archive » Worlds OLDEST blogger died!

  3. Pingback: olive riley

  4. Pingback: Olive Riley, World’s Oldest Blogger, Dies « Shirley Buxton

  5. Pingback: Happy 108th Birthday, Olive « Shirley Buxton

  6. Hello, everybody, and thanks for being here, for reading about Olive, and for commenting.

    Eric, I beg forgiveness for adding a year to sweet Olive’s age. I’m going over right now to check out your site.

    A great day to all.

    Shirley

    Like

Leave a Reply

